Invite friends
I want  answers   advisors   relevant links   my network
Search 
For


How it works
  MEMBERS LOGIN
EMAIL ADDRESS  
PASSWORD  
 
Register!          Forgot password?


CATEGORY : NUTRITION
All Nutrition Advice
Unanswered Queries
FileAgent Document Exchange
Council Members
Advisor Rankings
Top Rated Advisors
NameAsk Me Rate (in AA$)
Prabhakara Rao Kuppi N/A
princess g N/A
bhaskara ramam g N/A
Kranthi Kumar $10.00   
Lathaa Manavalan $50.00   
Kishore H.K. $10.00   
C. Raj, United Kingd $1,000.00   
jyo mala N/A
Geetha Gopakumar $30.00   
Ammas.com, Ltd N/A
More Advisors...

Home > Categories > Health and Beauty > Nutrition > View Advice  

Query from: michael, singapore, 04/17/07
Topic: NUTRITION      Submitted on: Ammas.com
Subject: is the soya lecithin (E476) used in chocolates suitable for vegetarians?

is the soya lecithin (E476) used in chocolates, suitable for vegetarians?

Rate = 3 (Rated by 10 Council Members)
[ This query closed ]
random/gerbil.jpeg
Response from: Badshah .,   
Council Member on Ammas.com
Source: This information comes from my own knowledge.
Dear michael, http://www.lci-koeln.de/22_4.htm… Soya lecithin (E476) used in chocolates is suitable for vegetarians. Chocolates are generally produced by addition of small amounts (< 0.5%) of certain emulsifiers. There are two main reasons for employing emulsifiers: on one hand for enhancing the flow behavior of molten chocolate, characterized through the parameters viscosity and yield value. This permits a reduction of the cocoa butter content by up to 5%. On the other hand emulsifiers enhance the storage stability by retarding and reducing fat blooming. At present, emulsifiers such as lecithin (E322), but ammonium phosphatides (E442) and Polyglycerol polyricinoleate (E476) as well, are usually employed in the chocolate industry. They are, separately or in combination, capable of influencing the rheological properties of chocolate in a positive way.

Rate = 2.5 (Rated by 5 Council Members)

Thank this advisor   
 
Response from: Indumukhi A.,   
Council Member on Ammas.com
Source: This information comes from my own knowledge.
Yes, soya lecithin comes from soybeans. Sometimes lecithin is derived from eggs or other animal products. But as long as it is called "soya lecithin" it is derived from the soybean and vegetarian.

Rate = 1 (Rated by 4 Council Members)

Thank this advisor   
 
Response from: vijayalakshmi ravindran,   
Registered Member on Ammas.com
Source: This information comes from my own knowledge.
soya is vegetarian ,so any by product is also vegetarian

Rate = 1.5 (Rated by 6 Council Members)

 
 
 
 
 
More Nutrition Advice


 




Privacy Policy
Terms & Conditions
Ask Agent™ Tech Support/Help
Contact Us
Advertising Program
About the Ask Agent™ technology
Affiliate Program
Celebrity Queries
Latest Updates


Get the latest queries and responses via  Add Ammas Gadget to your iGoogle
Important Disclaimer: This question and answer system is open to the public. The opinions expressed are those of their individual authors, as attributed beside each item of advice. Neither the authors nor the information they provide are endorsed by this website. We recommend using common sense, making your own inquiries, and, if necessary, seeking professional advice before relying on material generated on this site.

Copyright © 1998 - 2014 Ammas.com.
Powered by Ask Agent
Patents filed since 2001 -- Request Patent Numbers
TOP